Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Trimming? pruning? what's the difference?

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Trimming? pruning? what's the difference?

Can anybody please clear up the difference between pruning and trimming of trees or shrubs? How would this be charged?
    ROB-KEEPING NEAT AND GREEN IN SAN ANTONIO

Hi Lawn Star,
    I am fairly new to this, though these are my thoughts on the two. Pruning means pruning of roses, flowers, etc. In other words to prune selectively, if you prune a tree you are pruning selective branches (possible to let more light in the center for better growth). Trimming means to trim the edge of something. When trimming trees, shrubs, etc... You are trimming all of the tree or shrub non-selectively. Hope this makes sense. This is my take on the two at least.
    As for charging, I believe you would typically only charge for trimming of trees or large shrubs. The way I charge for the two, is I estimate how many hours it would take to do it for two guys, then add on your profit to that.

Pruning of Large tree
    Total hours: 3
    Total men: 2
    Rate per man hour: $30
    Total $180.00

If I am only paying my guys $10.00 per hr., then that is a profit of $120.00 more or less.

Though as I mentioned, I am fairly new to running my own operation here, but this is how I have been doing it so far.

Hope this helps

Regards,
    dschoefer
    Schoefer Landscaping and Lawn Care
    sunflowergarden.com

Comment