Fertilizing for St. Augustine

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Fertilizing for St. Augustine

Guys, I am a newbie in these forums and appreciate any help on this subject. Ive searched the forums for a topic such as this, but can't find anything specific to my area, so here goes....

I just bought a home in Gainesville, Florida. I've never dealt with a manicured lawn before because I grew up on a farm where the yard didn't really get any attention.

Anyway, the grass that's been planted is St Augustine, but it is very spotty to say the least. Ive decided to plant some sod in the spring when fall and winter get through, because I've been told that now is not a good time because the roots wont set in for a while. So, here's my question....

In this area of North-eastern Florida, how often do you fertilize and weed-n-feed, when, and what do you use? Someone told me to weed and feed once a year in the fall, but to fertilize 4 times a year (quarterly). He did not tell me what would be good as far as the numbers go. (10-20-15 or whatever). My lawn is half shade from oak trees, and half wide open sun-light. Any help would be appreciated. THANKS!!!
    - Your home for Gator Tailgating and Gator Sports News and Forums.

Originally posted by rustyt22
    Guys, I am a newbie in these forums and appreciate any help on this subject. Ive searched the forums for a topic such as this, but can't find anything specific to my area, so here goes....

I just bought a home in Gainesville, Florida. I've never dealt with a manicured lawn before because I grew up on a farm where the yard didn't really get any attention.

Anyway, the grass that's been planted is St Augustine, but it is very spotty to say the least. Ive decided to plant some sod in the spring when fall and winter get through, because I've been told that now is not a good time because the roots wont set in for a while. So, here's my question....