Rookie Pricing Question

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Rookie Pricing Question

Hey Guys ... I'm new at this stuff, so be patient. I am a carpet cleaner who has found himself suddenly in the lawn care business. Currently, I am pricing via my guess regarding how long it will take me to cut the lawn in question. I am failing miserably, of course.

My question is:
    Do you guys price by the s.f. of lawn you are cutting, or do you convert the hours it will take off the s.f. of the yard, or what?

In the carpet cleaning industry, we generally price by the s.f. with prices ranging from 8 cents and up depending on the carpet in question. Do ya'll do something similar?

Oh, another thing ...

The reason I am asking is because I have a local bank that wants me to bid on three branches that they have locally. They want their grass cut, of course, and the edges trimmed, and their scrubs kept cut. They also want me to blow off their parking lots and keep some flowers in the beds by the front doors of each facility. I have tried to figure out how long these things will take me, on a weekly basis, and then extrapolate a price based on my hourly rate. If you can believe it, the lady I'm dealing with told me my price was "way lower than the guy doing it now."

Now, I appreciate her honesty, but now I'm thinking .... I need some EDUCATION HERE!

Help me, if you can, not to loose this opportunity, or MY SHIRT!

Comment

Porky, I love your movies!

Comment